9 Bodies I’ve Had – Great Writing for Body Positivity Week

Source: Buzzfeed

I’m working on it. I’ll always be working on it.

1.

I’m getting changed for a swimming lesson, surrounded by other boys in my year. We wrap towels around our waists and pull on our trunks in private. Nobody wants to be naked. When we walk out to the pool, the chubby kids get made fun of. I shouldn’t be worried. I’m thin, tall, my chest and stomach flat. My shoulders are broad. I have no belly. And yet standing in front of the boys and girls in my class, I consciously pull my stomach muscles taut, determined that no one will ever make fun of me for being fat. I’m 9 years old and my body is in competition.

Read the full story: 9 Bodies I’ve Had

enhanced-mid-20187-1462888482-11

Leave a Reply

